Monday, October 13, 2008


Puyang is a prefecture-level city in northeastern Henan province, China. Located on the northern shore of the Yellow River, it borders Anyang in the west, Xinxiang in the southwest, and the provinces of Shandong and Hebei in the east and north respectively.


The prefecture-level city of Puyang administers 1 and 5 .

*Hualong District
*Puyang County
*Qingfeng County
*Nanle County
*Fan County
*Taiqian County


Traditionally throughout history, Puyang was a county of Daming Prefecture, Zhili Province. It was only until 1928 when the the old Zhili Province was divied into three provinces of Hebei, Chahar and Rehe, with southern part ceded to Henan and northeastern part cdeded to Liaoning and Inner Mongolia, with Beijing and Tianjin as cities under direct administration of the central government.

In 1987, Puyang was the site of an important archaeological find, the first depiction of a Chinese dragon, dated at 6500 years old. Chinese scholars therefore regard Puyang as one of the important birthplaces of Chinese civilization.

No comments: